Memorial Monday

J.R.R. Tolkien was the one who created the fantastical world of Middle Earth. Full of elves, hobbits, dwarves, and many other mythical creatures, Middle Earth has given generations of people a place to escape from the real world. As a known pipe smoker and an esteemed fantasy writer, this man has forever changed the world of fiction. I know this may not seem important to some people, but I deem Tolkien worthy of being praised for his work.

 

If you disagree with me, then just look at how popular Harry Potter is. J.K. Rowling took many ideas from Tolkien’s works and used them in Harry Potter. But let us not get caught up in senselessly arguing about this.

 

I would also like to commend Peter Jackson, the screenplay writers, and everyone else involved in the creation of The Lord of the Rings movies for their fruitful efforts and fabulous work. These people really brought Middle Earth to life and heightened its popularity extremely. The Hobbit movie is coming out soon and I am very much looking forward to it. Because Peter Jackson and Howard Shore are involved with the making of it, I believe it will be a most excellent film.

 

This is my favourite poem by J.R.R. Tolkien:

“All that is gold does not glitter,

not all those who wander are lost;

the old that is strong does not wither,

deep roots are not reached by the frost.

From the ashes a fire shall be woken,

a light from the shadows shall spring;

renewed shall be blade that was broken,

the crownless again shall be king.”

3 responses to “Memorial Monday

  1. I love the work of Tolkien too! I like what Peter Jackson and co. did with it, even though I was a little annoyed at bits that were taken out and the bits that they added, but all in all they were very good films! I suppose they had to make changes for it to fit in that medium. That poem is beautiful too.

  2. I have to admit JK Rowling and Harry Potter was a very unique idea and i loved the series. I also liked the Lord of the Rings series.

    Loved the poem and literature, i sense a touch of ‘expect the unexpected’ in those poems too. She is giving a very inspirational secret away within her words.

Leave a comment